Eight African countries recognized for efforts to reduce malaria incidence and deaths

Today at the 28th African Union Summit in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia, the African Leaders Malaria Alliance (ALMA) honored eight African countries that have shown commitment and innovation in the fight against malaria. The 2017 ALMA Awards for Excellence were awarded to:

  • Botswana, Cabo Verde, Comoros, Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC), Ethiopia, Swaziland, and Uganda, for their impact on malaria incidence and mortality; and
  • Chad, for its leadership in the fight against malaria.

Botswana, Cabo Verde, Comoros, DRC, Ethiopia, Swaziland, and Uganda have all achieved a reduction in malaria incidence of 40 percent or more from 2010-2015. The significant reduction in malaria in the three high-burden countries (DRC, Ethiopia, and Uganda) demonstrates what can be achieved with political commitment, adequate financing, and implementation of technically sound and evidence-based vector control and case management interventions—even where malaria transmission is high. ALMA commended Botswana, Cabo Verde, Comoros, and Swaziland for sustaining the gains previously made between 2000-2010. These four countries are all aiming to achieve national malaria elimination by 2020.

See this press release from ALMA to learn more about the ALMA Awards for Excellence and how these eight countries have achieved or maintained these gains against malaria.